Accomplish.

by sierramargaret

Wednesday night at two am I had this crazy idea to put my blog on Reddit.

I’d been avoiding it for weeks. I’d thought about it, yes, but the idea terrified me. Then two nights ago at two am I just did it, didn’t think about it, and went to bed.

I woke up to a message from a friend. “Hey, congrats on Reddit.” What!? Congrats on what? I went to the front page and saw: my blog had made it to the front page of Reddit.

I’m honored and excited. I’m also kicking myself for not writing a second piece sooner: my experience at the premiere itself and my review of the movie once I’d seen it. That is the next goal. 

The last few days have been filled with a lot of media attention. I interviewed with the Loop, talked with CNN, and found myself to be the center of a Yahoo article as well as various other articles around the net. It was weird. The point was not to get fame for myself- I couldn’t care less. It was about doing everything in my physical power to tell the world that the true Jack O’Mara was an amazing man. And that’s what I accomplished.

In the last 24 hours, the Gangster Squad books on Amazon have almost sold out. More people have been interested in learning about my grandpa than ever before.

Today I talked to my dear friend Marlees about this crazy whirlwind of a 24 hours.

“Do you think Jack would be proud of me?” I asked.

“Sierra he one hundred per cent is.” she said. “You’re fighting with your brain!”

That, dear readers, was my goal.

And that goal has been accomplished.

Leave a Reply

